Sorry seems to be the hardest word

I don’t pretend to know a great deal about the inner workings of British politics. In fact, I don’t pretend to know a great deal about politics in general. I, like Liam Neeson, do have a particular set of skills though, which are mainly focused on knowing bullshit when I see it (smell it?) as opposed to battering child snatching Euro trash. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like Nick Clegg.

So let’s get this out of the way quickly. I, like Nicholas, also have a misguided and pointless apology to make. Where as his apology focused on what happens when you promise the earth and deliver a steaming hot turd instead mine will deal with the awful fact that I voted for the lying snake in the first place. Yes that’s right, I put cross to ballot paper in favour of the guy that ‘promised!!!’ to get rid of ALL tuition fees. But this is not why I wanted him in charge. I’m not a student and never plan to be so excuse my ignorance when I say that I really couldn’t give a shit how much the middle classes are charged for an education they will never use. I voted for him based on those televised debates in which he came across the better of the bad bunch. Admittedly this wasn’t much of an achievement when all he was faced with was a man whose first smile was born from election strategy and David Cameron. Wasn’t sure if I needed an insult there for David as the mere mention of his name is usually enough but for those who live in blissful ignorance how about – coin-faced Klingon who couldn’t organise a piss bag in a nursing home? Good enough? I hope so. So there you have it. I’m bloody sorry for having the bloody cheek to dare to believe a politician who almost sounded something like a bloody real person.

But Mr Clegg has got this wrong as well. He’s apologising for the wrong mistake! Take your pick but really shouldn’t we be hearing the grovelling apology of a man who went the political equivalent ‘ugly, early’?  He must have woken up the day after the election sore from the penetration of the far right and dreading the inevitable flashbacks of the previous nights career buggery. Honestly the Liberal Democrats forming a coalition with the Tories was at the time as likely as the Rebel Alliance joining the Galactic Empire in the Death Star for a shared rule of the Galaxy.

“There’s no easy way to say this. We didn’t stick to it (cap on tuition fees) and for that, I am sorry,” conceded Clegg in a seriously ill advised broadcast. Surely this admission of guilt will only be taken as a sign of weakness and proof of how little sway he and his party have in Parliament. Where as you may see why they jumped at the chance to sit in government they must surely now see they amount to little more than making up the numbers. During the Oscars ceremony people are employed to wear tuxedos and fill the empty seats so the Kodak Theatre looks right. This is all the Liberal Democrats have amounted to.

“There’s no easy way to say this Mr Clegg but you’ve failed”.

 Phil Watson.

Leave a comment